Prevention Section

Mission Statement

The Prevention Section is a section of the Society of Counseling Psychology, Division 17 of the American Psychological Association. The purpose of the section is to further theory, research, training, practice, advocacy, and policy initiatives in prevention among counseling psychologists.

Prevention includes (a) stopping a problem behavior from ever occurring; (b) delaying the onset of a problem behavior; (c) reducing the impact of a problem behavior; (d) strengthening knowledge, attitudes, and behaviors that promote emotional and physical well-being; and (e) promoting institutional, community, and government policies that further physical, social, and emotional well- being (Romano & Hage, 2000).

Here are some examples of prevention initiatives:

  1. Conducting research on risk factors associated with suicide in order to inform suicide prevention initiatives;
  2. Creating psychoeducational programs to promote prosocial behaviors and prevent bullying in K-12 schools;
  3. Training counselors to be multiculturally competent so as to reduce incidences of racial microaggressions in cross-racial counseling relationships;
  4. Advocating for changes in policies and laws that will reduce incidences of domestic violence.

History of the Prevention Section:
The section’s origins began around 1990 with the formation of the Prevention and Public Interest special interest group. The prevention section was voted into existence by the Division 17 executive council in 2000.

Chairs of the Section:

  • 2000-2002 John Romano
  • 2002-2004 Michael Waldo
  • 2004-2006 Maureen Kenny
  • 2006-2008 Andy Horne
  • 2008-2010 Jon Schwartz
  • 2010-2012 Sally Hage
  • 2012-2014 LeRoy Reese
  • 2014-2016 Dorothy L. Espelage
  • 2016-2018 Dorothy L. Espelage & Erin Ayala
  • 2018-2020 Marty Swanbrow Becker
  • 2020-2022: Moshe Israelashvili, Ph.D.

Section Chair

Lisa De La Rue
Term: 2022-2024

Section Chair-Elect

Sarah Cronin
Term: 2022-2024